The little fist of fury Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 21 May 2019 23:06:31 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, May 18, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2019.html <p>Fun run up in Provo. Glad I waited until the afternoon, a lot nicer weather then. I also got to go with cousin Jake and celebrate his 25th birthday with a sweet little run. He&#39;s a good dude, and a fantastic cousin. I also let him papate my pelvis for his PT class haha</p> Sat, 18 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 17, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2019.html <p>Surprisingly cold this morning, but a good run nonetheless</p> Fri, 17 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 16, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2019.html <p>Did some good fartleks, with 2 minutes going hard, one minute rest. Good workout, especially since there was so much wind.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 15, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2019.html <p>Chill 3 mile loop. Another good day of studying, just doing my best to try and work hard and stay focused. Man, it&#39;s tough. It takes all of my self control to get any studying done. It&#39;s weird how when you don&#39;t have a specific class, it just is harder to get it all done, or at least to spend the time.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 14, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2019.html <p>Stayed up to late, and just ended up running around the block twice. Still got the mileage, and also played pickleball in the afternoon.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 14 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 13, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2019.html <p>Good run, didn&#39;t wear my watch, but I was cruising!</p> Mon, 13 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 11, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2019.html <p>Fun little race starting at confluence park by the convention center and heading over the bridge towards my neighborhood, then back. There wasn&#39;t any competition, but I still wanted to get a good time to prove that I could do it. I was really happy with how things went, especially considering I stayed up kinda late last night, and didn&#39;t warm up... or cool down... haha, I got so caught up talking to my old friend Jake Wagner and Cassie and Eric Hall that I just didn&#39;t end up doing either of those things. Not the best discipline in that area, but it felt fun to win, even though I didn&#39;t really have to beat anyone tough to do it. I was really pleased with the time though. I feel like I&#39;ve still got it haha, still could get that varsity spot.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 11 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 10, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2019.html <p>Just ran a mile before doing a full length mcat practice test. The test went well, happy to see some progress in that area, afterwards went and played a bunch of pickleball, which was great. I wasn&#39;t fully mentally engaged, but it still was good, and I played fine. I need to be careful how much I do that backhand serve, cause it&#39;s pretty tough on my scapula and stuff. Oh well, just part of the game!</p> Fri, 10 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 09, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2019.html <p>Awesome run at 5:30 this morning with Coach Fielding. I love running with that guy, it&#39;s great. Some good conversation, and some good silent stretches as well, it was just chill. It felt really good to go long, and so nice to do it with someone else as well. It was just soothing to my soul.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 09 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 08, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2019.html Wed, 08 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 07, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2019.html <p>Good run today. I did a .5 mile warm up, then a two mile tempo run. First mile was 5:30 and felt good, right where I wanted it to be. The second mile was a 5:33 or so, but definitely a tougher mile to run. I was fun to get out and push myself, and I&#39;ve got a lot of room to improve. With my limited time that I have, I&#39;m thinking some more 2 mile tempo runs will be good, and maybe some mile repeats and stuff like that. We&#39;ll see how fast I can get on this low mileage stuff haha</p> Tue, 07 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 06, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2019.html <p>Had some really weird knee pain that worked itself out as the run went on. Hopefully that doesn&#39;t come back. Also, rumor has it that my cousin Matthew ran a 17:50 5k, so the pressure is on. Hopefully I can do better than that this weekend.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 03, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2019.html <p>1.5 mile warm up, 1 mile tempo run (I hit a 5:14, so I was pumped about that) then a .5 mile cool down. Felt really good about this run. Also, last night I saw an email from the St. George marathon saying they&#39;d give me elite status and not charge me to run it... I wasn&#39;t planning on running it because I don&#39;t have time to seriouslly train like I did last year. Well, I signed up (side not, I still got charged, even with the little coupon code time, so I emailed them to see if I could get that sorted out) and now I&#39;m just thinking about it a lot haha. I would love to hit 2:33, but considering the time I have to train, I think a realistic goal is going to be under 2:40. I think I could do that on a relatively low mile training regime. Now the question is, do I buy the Nike 4% for this...</p> Fri, 03 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 02, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2019.html <p>Nice little run today, although it didn&#39;t feel super great, cause I had eaten about 3 burritos less than an hour before I went running. Consequences!!! Still fun to be out running in the heat (I mean, it&#39;s not truly hot yet) and just get the body moving! I see so many old fat people who have bad health because of lifelong bad habits, I just wanna keep working hard and stay fit forever.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 01, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2019.html <p>Ran 3.4 miles on the single track trail on web hill. I was only going ot go 3, but I was having such a good time, I didn&#39;t even realize I had hit the turnaround point.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 01 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 30, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2019.html <p>It was a nice run today, kinda in between pleasantly cool and hot, that&#39;s the best way to describe the weather. Like, the weather wanted to be hot, but there was a breeze and it was overcast. Lots of studying to do today, I think it will be a good one!</p> Tue, 30 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 29, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-29-2019.html <p>Nice run in the rain. Was a hard day for me to focus, and I wasted some time in the afternoon when I should have been studying. It was just one of those days when I was frustrated with myself, but I&#39;ll regroup and move on.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 29 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 27, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2019.html <p>5 mile run/workout with my sister Anna! Good times!</p> Sat, 27 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 25, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2019.html <p>Nice trail run along the boneville shorline trail. Ran the first mile in like 7:40, then for whatever reason I just wanted to go faster so the next mile was about 6:40, and then I pulled out a 6:15 to close, so that was a lot of fun.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 23, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2019.html <p>Great run up squaw peak with Joseph Moore. He got into grad school at Stanford, so this will be my last little run with him for a while. He&#39;s been an awesome running homie, and I&#39;ll miss him for sure. It was also a gorgeous run, so pretty, and a blast coming down. The Lone Peaks felt fantastic. My roomate Sam left today, and that was prettty tough. He&#39;s honestly my best homie, and we&#39;re going to see eachother soon in the summer and stuff, and it&#39;s not like he died or anything, but man, I just hate saying goodbye to people.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 22, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2019.html <p>Fun run today. I ran over to Natalie&#39;s house (she&#39;s the girl that Micah and Emily set me up with) and then we did a road loop together and I ran home. She&#39;s planning on doing the marathon in october, and I was trying to give her some advice about that, or training for it, but I feel like she already has her own idea of what she wants to do haha. I just gotta remember that I shouldn&#39;t give advice unless people ask for it. haha</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 18, 2019 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2019.html <p>2 mile run before I got back to the grind of studying for finals. Weather couldn&#39;t have been better.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2019 06:00:00