The little fist of fury Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 20 Sep 2018 04:55:28 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Sep 15, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-15-2018.html <p>Awesome run today. Went 10 miles up the canyon, and cruised 10 miles down at marathon pace. The first couple miles were a little slow, but after that I was consistently fast, and ended up averaging 5.40, so just under marathon pace. I was really happy with the workout, I felt smooth the whole way, and the St. George course is a lot more downhill than what I was running on, so that will be an awesome extra little boost as well. I didn&#39;t have to poop, so that was good, and I practiced taking a goo, and no problems there. This was a great workout and awesome confidence booster for the marathon. One more big workout to go!</p> Sat, 15 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 14, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-14-2018.html <p>Nice 1:10 easy run along canyon road. Big workout tomorrow, lets go!!!!</p> Fri, 14 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 13, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-13-2018.html <p>Fun little loop with my buddy Bryce. Pretty sore from yesterday, but nothing too bad.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 12, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-12-2018.html <p>Good workout on Provo track this morning. MILE REPEATS BABY! OH YEAH! haha, they were actually pretty good. I needed to hit between 4:54 and 5:09, actual spits as follows</p> <p>5.13</p> <p>5.08</p> <p>5.09</p> <p>5.08</p> <p>The first one was a little slow because I just ran the first lap way to slow, I probably should have done some strides or something like that first. The next two were great, felt fine, except for after the 3rd one I had to poop real bad (typical) so I ran across the street to the McDonalds and used the bathroom. Despite the extra rest, the last one felt quite a bit tougher, and I think that&#39;s because my muscles were cold, but after a couple laps they got warmed up again and I felt fine. 5 minutes rest between each one, good stuff!</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 11, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-11-2018.html <p>I was feeling good this morning, expect for a stop I had to make for an explosive bowel movement, but besides that I just cruised around 6:40 or a little faster and felt fantastic, it was a real good run!</p> Tue, 11 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 10, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-10-2018.html <p>Good run out past my grave and beyond. I was able to keep in under 7 just about the whole time, and felt good.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 10 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 08, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-08-2018.html <p>Nice run with Sam up in SLC</p> Sat, 08 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 07, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-07-2018.html <p>Nice track workout with my friend Bryce. Each 800 was 2:31, or 2:30, except for I smashed the last one at 2:26</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 06, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-06-2018.html Thu, 06 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 05, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2018.html <p>Tempo run on the lower Provo River trail. The idea was to do 2x4mile repeats at faster than marathon pace. I haven&#39;t had good fortune on this trail before, but I just went out to do my best anyway. The first repeat average 5:44 pace, and just did not feel super fantastic. I relly tried to be positive, and keep good vibes for the second one, which is usually harder because it&#39;s uphill most of the way instead of down. Anyway, I adjusted my goal, to just being under 6 minute pace for the next 4, hopefully dropping it the last mile or so. That&#39;s what happened, I was right at 6 minute pace, then the last mile was a 5:50, to average 5:57. Not my best workout, but I finished it, the legs were tired, and hopefully it makes me stronger for the marathon. I honestly feel that the biggest help would be someone to train with on these tempo runs, but I&#39;ll just deal with running alone, haha</p> Wed, 05 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 04, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-04-2018.html <p>Tried out Olympus, they&#39;re super duper cushy, and springy, but I kinda liked it.&nbsp;</p> <p>The bad part of this run was I took of my first ever xc racing top, and left it by the trail, and when I came back, it was all torn up and just mutilated. My friend Sam had left his shirt by the trail as well, and it was just completely gone. We&#39;re both pretty confused about what happened, but the best guess is probably some random animal just tore them up. Super weird and lame.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 04 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 03, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-03-2018.html <p>Classic Brianhead run, up to the peak and then back to the condo. Nice and smooth run, got me excited for the marathon.</p> Mon, 03 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 01, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-01-2018.html <p>Long hot afternoon run, but it was good! Glad it&#39;s done! haha</p> Sat, 01 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 31, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2018.html <p>nice tempo run today! The pace for the fast miles was 5:34, and it just felt good and smooth. I&#39;m really happy about it.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 31 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 30, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2018.html <p>Nice run! I ran 4 with Jaiden, then 5 on my on, all on dirt roads</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 29, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2018.html <p>35 minutes out, and then ran back! Nice cool morning!</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 28, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2018.html <p>1.5 mile warm up, nice fast loop around the mayor&#39;s loop</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 27, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-27-2018.html <p>Nice little progression run with the xc team this morning. We did a 25 minute progression, well, really only the last 10 minutes were designed as a progression. Mile 1 was 6:17, mile 2 at 6:09, 3 at 5:51, 4 at 5:09. I was pretty excited because we were really flying there at the end, and it was also great to run with other people, and have that healthy competition.&nbsp;</p> <p>A little over 3 miles in the evening with Jaiden Melendrez, which was awesome</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 25, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2018.html <p>So I cheered on Anna this morning at the SUU invitational. She ran well, and hung on to her varsity spot, so I&#39;m proud of her for that! I then went on a long run from Parawon to Cedar city, and there was a headwind the entire way... it also felt uphill most of the way, but lets just say it was exhausting! Glad I got it done though, just gotta keep working through the pain and difficulty</p> Sat, 25 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 24, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2018.html <p>Good workout this morning, 6x800m repeats, I did them with a kid I met last week named Bryce. It was a good push, and felt good to go fast. the target pace was 2.27-2.34, and the splits were as follows:</p> <p>2.31, 2.26, 2.30, 2.31, 2.30, 2.25</p> <p>I loved going fast and pushing my speed a little bit, I was also able to get some good mileage in to hopefully make up for a couple of lower mileage runs this week</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 23, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2018.html <p>Frustrating day of car problems and lots of stuff going on, I ran 3 in the morning, and was never able to get out again... Gotta keep the pedal to the metal!!!</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 22, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2018.html <p>Only was able to run 6 today. I was planning on running after work, but some car troubles and a torrential downpour put an end to that.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 21, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2018.html <p>3x3 mile repeats today. They were tough. My legs were feeling sore and flat, and the first repeat, I just could not get going at all. There was a bit of a headwind, and my&nbsp; first 3 ended up with a time of 18:08, which was dissapointing. The second one had a nice headwind, until I turned around, after that I started feeling a lot better, and was finally able to get down to below marathon pace, and that repeate was 17:49, I think haha. The next one had some hills and stuff, but I was warmed up and a little more confident, so I was able to run 17:32, which still wasn&#39;t great, but it was still good to finish, work through the pain and some not ideal circumstances. I&#39;m just glad that I was mentally able to push through and not give up on the run or the workout.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 21 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 20, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-20-2018.html Mon, 20 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 18, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2018.html <p>Did a trail race at sundance super last minute today, it was a blast. The most beautiful race I&#39;ve ever done, and one of the most beautiful runs period that I&#39;ve ever been on. I took second overall, and I won a bar of soap, but not just any soap, hand made soap, now that&#39;s fancy! haha. They took forever with the awards though, so I didn&#39;t get in as many total miles as I would have liked.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 18 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 17, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2018.html Fri, 17 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 16, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2018.html <p>Good workout this morning! It was fun to have my friend Robert come out and join me for 4 of the 6 mile repeats. The goal pace was 5:20, and my splits were: 5.21, 5.19, 5.19, 5.20, 5.21, 5.17</p> <p>Really pleased with the workout, it was smooth and felt very controlled. Good things coming</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 15, 2018 http://bin.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2018.html Wed, 15 Aug 2018 06:00:00